This picturesque hamlet was literally saved from the waters during the construction of the Chute-à-Caron dam when it was rebuilt higher above ground in 1915. A harmonious tableau with a handful of homes, which form the Place des Ormes heritage complex, is cradled between the small church built in 1915 and the surrounding fields and offers views of the Saguenay River. Saint-Charles-de-Bourget connects to the river with a wharf and boat launch ramp (free) where a rest area, overnight camping, and bathrooms are all in proximity. Visitors will find an art exhibit of paintings by the artist Linda-Pierre Bélanger can be viewed in the church. In the surrounding area, the Marais du Lac Duclos marsh (intersection of rang 3 and route Racine) is an ideal location for birdwatching. An interpretation trail will bring hikers to a rocky plateau that offers magnificent views and a natural terrace overlooking a second marshland.